Selena Gomez Defends Herself Against Bindi Controversy As She Shares Her Love For ‘Beautiful’ Indian Culture, Talks About Themed Birthday Bash

resize_image

Wearing a bindi during a live MTV performance earlier this year, Selena Gomez found herself in hot water when she was heavily criticised by the Universal Society of Hinduism. The singer insisted she loves the “beautiful” Indian culture.

The singer has taken inspiration from India for her comeback single Come & Get It and with her MTV Movie Awards performance Selena was dressed in a flowing sari style outfit.

The singer revealed just how mesmerised she is with the country, telling Us Weekly that the Hindu culture has inspired both her music and her style:

“My hairstylist and my makeup artist are actually really big into the whole culture — they’ve been around, they’ve traveled, they’ve gotten me into various books,” she said.

“I’ve been traveling, too. It’s been really fun to explore that because it’s a very different view and it’s such a beautiful culture.”

Selena went on to reveal that she planned a themed bash for her 21st birthday. The star revealed that she had told her friends to dress with with a gypsy theme in mind:

“I love that vibe, I love that feel. All my girls are going to have really cute little fun skirts and really cute little tops and rings.”

And it sounds like Selena was ready to let her hair down and party hard as she told US Weekly that she has no regrets about having fun whilst she’s young:

“I think that at the end of the day, I’m definitely a 21-year-old, and if you ask anybody in this room what they did when they were 21, I’m sure they would say they just experienced life and tried to enjoy it,” she explained.

“So I’m enjoying balancing both, because I do want to celebrate my 21st birthday, but at the same time, it’s been fun for me to grow up and figure out who I am and who I want to be.”

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow CelebUpdateNews on WordPress.com

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

Categories

Archives

